reviews_lesbianreviewThe Lesbian Review (Jan 2016): All the little Moments

All the Little Moments by G Benson is an absolute gem. It deftly and delicately explores the challenges of navigating a new life while grieving, including when joy starts to pop up again, but also provides a satisfying romance. This is a fairly long book, but I couldn’t imagine it any shorter because every scene and interaction is necessary for either story or character progression. Plenty of lesroms explore grief in the context of widowhood, but this is the first I’ve seen with a story like this. Benson nonjudgmentally explores how it’s possible to grieve for many things at once (people, a former life, the future you thought you were going to have), acknowledging that sometimes it means working through thoughts and feelings we’re not proud of. >> Read more

 

reviews_rainbow-book-reviews

Rainbow Book Review (Jan 2016): All the little Moments

This is a remarkable story that accomplishes something extraordinary. It is an astounding composite of *little moments* that grows, moves, envelops the two main women, their working worlds, plus their families. The story is set primarily in Melbourne. Some specifics that may exist only in Australia, to the best of my knowledge, do take center stage later in the book during a specific legal proceeding. Actually, I was rather impressed and warmly favorable to this country for what felt like more forward thinking and openness than I am aware of in my own country. Bottom line and best of all this book is thoroughly charming and emotionally engaging. Good show! >> Read more

 

reviews_rainbow award

2015 Rainbow Awards Honorable Mention (Dec 2015): All the little Moments

A winner, in my humble opinion. It’s truly a wonderful book, especially because it deals with the painful side of life: loss, grief, living with a big hole where there used to be a person while trying not to drown in other’s grief and accepting that life does go on. What I loved most about this book is the message it seems to send. Nothing so trite as “life goes on” or “time heals all wounds”. But more “if life pushes you where you never wanted to go, and you have the courage to accept this new way, you can find unexpected happiness”. That, to me, is deeply encouraging. >> Read more

 

reviews_curveCurve Magazine (Dec 2015): All the little Moments

Benson does a good job writing about a heavy topic. She knows how to show what her characters are feeling, and there are some poignant scenes. I liked that she runs the whole gamut effortlessly from heart-wrenching to humorous and takes us on a roller coaster ride with the new “mom” who needs to learn parenting real fast. The kids worm their way not only into the heart of Anna, but of us readers as well. And when Anna and the kids are threatened and ugliness rears its head, you want to strangle everyone standing in the way of their happiness. Into this main story of grief the author interweaves a budding romance and the building of a new family. And for those who are looking for main characters of color, here you go. >> Read more

 

goodreads logoJenna at Goodreads (Nov 2015): All the little Moments

One of my favorite lines from Kahlil Gibran’s The Prophet states: “The deeper that sorrow carves into your being, the more joy you can contain.” I thought of that line often while reading ‘All the Little Moments,’ and it rang true from the first page to the last. There’s pain here, deep grief, incredibly joy, and so much more. Every bit of it felt authentic. Ms. Benson understands people, and she has a rare gift for writing children in particular; Ella and Toby, despite their very young ages, were full participants in the story. So often, children in lesfic — and romances in particular — are just little awww dispensers, giving out doses of unusually sage advice or lighthearted moments of cuteness. There’s some of that here, but it never felt false or manipulative. There was an emotional depth to both children that frequently moved me, sometimes even to tears. >>Read more


reviews_lesbianfictionreviewsLesbian Fiction Reviews (Sep 2015): All the little Moments

The bond between the characters isn’t just sweet, is deep, moving and real. Anna and Ella’s moments are amazingly sweet and soulful, how she respects her niece and doesn’t treat her like a little kid from whom she has to hide the truth even in the most difficult moments. Then we have Anna’s relationship with her mother, how she feels responsible of keeping her family working even when she feels completely devastated. Add to the recipe amazing characters like Kym, that amazing friend we all need in our lower moments, and Lane, not only a love interest but a destiny’s wink to Anna in the middle of such storm. >> Read more

 

prism book alliancePrism Book Alliance (Sep 2015) : All the Little Moments 

I really loved this book. It was so sweet and romantic and mushy…. it was just soo good! I admired Anna’s strength and courage to give up everything and give her niece and nephew a stable loving life. Her new friends are also just as strong as they make their way past their own pain. Lane and Kym have each others backs and Anna’s even when she can not cope with another thing and all are there for each other even when things look the bleakest. I would love to have friends like that!  >> Read more

 

cspot reviewsC-Spot Reviews (Aug 2015): All the Little Moments

After reading some pretty heavy stuff, I decided to go for what I thought would be a quick, light romance. I grabbed All the Little Moments, got the text-to-speech running on the old Kindle app, and got down to business. You can check out the video review below for a more comprehensive review but I think I’ve found a new author to add to my go-to list. I guess she better get busy with some new books. >> Watch Video Review

 

amazon logoKeats at Amazon (Aug 2015): All the little Moments

Very pleasantly surprised. I bought this book because I saw a woman of color on the cover. Sue me. This author is brand new and I didn’t see a single review but boy am I happy I got it! I enjoyed this book and give it 5 stars for entertaining me straight through. This is a bit of a feel good story in some ways but deals with death, which is a heavy topic. The author doesn’t hide from it or make it a subplot. In many ways the romance is second to it. It’s right in your face the entire way but somehow manages to not be depressing. Well done on that front alone. >> Read more

 

 

 

 

Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On PinterestVisit Us On Twitter